Campus News
Home » Campus News and Events » October 2009-University News Archive » 10-13-09, Finlandia Fall Play is October 22 to 25

Please enter a search term to begin your search.


Finlandia Fall Play is October 22 to 25

October 13, 2009

HANCOCK, MI - Four performances of the Finlandia University fall play, directed by Melvin Kangas, will take place October 22 to 25, 2009, at the Finnish American Heritage Center, Hancock.

The Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evening performances, October 22, 23, and 24, begin at 7:30 p.m. The Sunday matinee begins at 2:30 p.m.

The play, "Women of Niskavuori," was written in 1936 by Hella Wuolijoki. It is a well-known Finnish play and since the year 2000 has been staged over 40 times in the country.

The play's story is one of power, complicated love relations, and conflict between the traditional and the modern. Set against the background of the Niskavuori family estate, the play is the first part of a four-part saga in the vein of "Upstairs, Downstairs."

Central to the story are two strong women, Loviisa (played by Pam Pouttu), the old matron of Niskavuori, and Ilona (Megan Pachmayer), the emancipated young school teacher. Ilona's arrival at the village school compels Aarne Niskavuori (Pasi Lautala), the master of the Niskavuori estate, to make difficult choices concerning his half-hysterical wife, Martta, (Kaisa Randolph), his new love, and the home that he loves.

Tickets are $5.00 per person and may be purchased at the door prior to the performances. For additional information, please contact Melvin Kankas at 906-487-7250.