Campus News
Home » Campus News and Events » April 2012-University News Archive » 4-20-12, Finlandia Athletics Announces 2011-12 All-Academic Team

Please enter a search term to begin your search.

Finlandia Athletics Announces 2011-12 All-Academic Team

Athletics Academic Awards Lunch-4_19_12HANCOCK, MI - Finlandia University is pleased to congratulate the student-athletes named to the university's 2011-12 All-Academic Team. The students were honored at a luncheon on April 19.

The All-Academic Team recognizes Finlandia student-athletes who have completed at least 30 college-level credits and achieved a minimum overall GPA of 3.50.

"These student-athletes have done a tremendous job at balancing both academics and athletics," says Chris Salani, Finlandia athletic director. "They have displayed superb leadership and teamwork skills on the field, rink, and court, as well as in the classroom. Many of them are also active in the community and with student life on campus."

The Finlandia student-athletes on the 2011-12 All-Academic Team are:

Reece Anderson (Hancock, MI)

Adam Arthur (Ironwood, MI)

Charles Benik (Andover, MN)

Nanci Crossman (Livonia, MI)

Dawn Engman (Dollar Bay, MI)

Kristen Fallon (Dollar Bay, MI)

Siera Hache (Winnipeg, Ontario)

Niki Hieda (Corona, CA)

Nemanja Jankovic (Belgrade, Serbia)

Jenny Johnson (Menahga, MN)

Eric Monticello (Hancock, MI)

Mariah Mumford (Mt. Pleasant, MI)

Haley Neri (Riga, MI)

Kelly Poelstra (Baltimore, Ontario)

Aaron Porath (Gladstone, MI)

Matt Strong (Houghton, MI)

Mallory Torola (Calumet, MI)

Kelsey Williams (Hopkins, MI)

Cole Workman (Howell, MI)

For additional information, contact Kate Hagenbuch, Finlandia head cross country coach, at 906-487-7287 or


Photo cutline: The Finlandia University 2011-12 All-Academic Team

Front Row (left to right): Mallory Torola, Haley Neri, Adam Arthur, Dawn Engman, Siera Hache, Kelly Poelstra, Mariah Mumford

Back Row (left to right): Cole Workman, Reece Anderson, Charles Benik, Matt Strong, Aaron Porath, Kristen Fallon, Kelsey Williams

Not pictured: Nanci Crossman, Niki Hieda, Nemanja Jankovic, Jenny Johnson, Eric Monticello