Campus News
Home » Campus News and Events » June 2012-University News Archive » 6-6-12, Student Nurse Assoc. Is Community Service Leader

Please enter a search term to begin your search.

Finlandia Student Nurse Association Recognized as Community Service Leader

Nursing Class of 2012

HANCOCK, MI - The Finlandia University Student Nurse Association was recently named a community service a leader by the Michigan Nursing Student Association (MNSA).

The MNSA award commended the Finlandia nursing students for their 10th annual, spring 2012 spaghetti dinner and raffle fundraiser in support of the Omega House hospice, Houghton. Since 2002, the student-nurses have donated to Omega House more than $15,000 dinner and raffle proceeds.

Each academic year, the MNSA identifies a community health project in which its student-nurse members are encouraged to become involved. For 2011-12, MNSA health project goals focused on assisting the aging population.

The Finlandia University Student Nurse Association engages in a number of community activities throughout the academic year, including community-wide canned food drives, blood drives, donation of holiday gifts to the Salvation Army, and assisting fellow student nurses by arranging speakers and special review courses.

The MNSA works to create environments where nursing students can achieve their full potential. A non-profit constituent of the National Student Nurses Association, the MNSA represents nursing students throughout the state of Michigan and provides leadership to its members. Visit the MNSA website at

The Omega House, a 501 (c) 3 tax exempt, charitable organization, provides a residential, homelike environment where terminally ill Copper Country residents may live fully during their final days, free from pain and social isolation.

For additional information, please contact Fredi deYampert, dean of the Finlandia University College of Health Sciences, at 906-487-7305 or

Photo cutline: The Finlandia University Bachelor of Science in Nursing Class of 2012 (left to right): Front row: Brianna Fortin (Lake Linden, Mich.), Caitlin Rose (Hancock, Mich.), Krystal Luoma (Calumet, Mich., Cleo Brown (Saginaw, Mich.), Chelsea Bessner (Hancock, Mich.), Katie LaPlante (Hancock, Mich.), Heidi Wingerson (Calumet, Mich.); Center row: Philetus Kleinschmit (Battle Creek, Mich.), Josie Riutta (Atlantic Mine, Mich.), Stacy Weathers (Chassell, Mich.); Back row: Michael Wilson Sr. (Pelkie, Mich.), Beth Dorsky (L'Anse, Mich.), Tina Ploe (Hancock, Mich.), Eric Monticello (Hancock, Mich.), Lauren Ruotsala (Atlantic Mine, Mich.), Philip Hainault (Lake Linden, Mich.), Stephanie Murray (Quinnesec, Mich.), Bethany Schultz (Saukville, Wis.); Not pictured is Jennifer Butryn (Escanaba, Mich.)